​​​About The Ministry

The Ministry of Local Government and Disaster Risk Management is responsible for the formulation of appropriate policies and strategies and the establishment of necessary legal framework to ensure that entities under its purview operate smoothly to contribute effectively towards achieving national objectives in respect of:

    • Local government matters in Mauritius;
    • Disaster Risk Reduction and Management;
    • Enforcement of conveyance of municipal solid waste;
    • Cleaning, landscaping and embellishment of public places;
    • Fire prevention and fighting as well as rescue service; and
    • Meteorological services.

The Ministry administers the Local Government Act 2011 and makes such regulations for the smooth implementation thereof and provides general policy guidance to Local Authorities.



Divisions / Units / Services under the Ministry



The following organisations/units fall under the purview of the Ministry:

  • the Local Authorities;
  • the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Centre;
  • the Field Services Unit;
  • the Mauritius Fire and Rescue Service; and
  • the Mauritius Meteorological Services.


The Local Authorities comprise one Municipal City Council, four Municipal Councils, seven District Councils and 130 Village Councils. These Local Authorities aim at providing services and carry out infrastructural developments at local level.  These include, among others, the provision of street-lighting; construction and maintenance of roads, drains and public spaces, provision and maintenance of bus shelters and traffic centres; scavenging services, organisation of sports and cultural activities; operation of markets and fairs; and maintenance of cemeteries and cremation grounds.



The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Centre (NDRRMC) acts as the main coordinating body of the Ministry for the planning, organising, coordinating and monitoring of disaster risk reduction and management activities at all levels. The NDRRMC operates under the supervision of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council, and is the primary coordinating agency for national disaster management activities in the Republic of Mauritius, and takes a pro-active all-hazard, multi-agency approach to risk management that emphasizes building capacity at all levels from the individual to the institutional. The NDRRMC coordinates with all stakeholders to ensure that risk reduction and preparedness planning is included at the required levels namely at national, municipal and district councils, private sector and communities' levels. In crisis situation, the National Crisis Committee (NCC) is convened under the chair of the Minister of Local Government and Disaster Risk Management. The National Crisis Committee shall have all the functions and powers of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council and shall take decisive and timely actions through the National Emergency Operations Command (NEOC) to safeguard the life of persons in danger.

The Field Services Unit (FSU) is responsible for executing minor upgrading works across the island, including landscaping and embellishment, provision of amenities, maintenance and cleaning in public places, amongst others.


The Mauritius Fire and Rescue Service (MFRS)​ aims at making Mauritius a safe place by minimizing the risks of loss of life, property and environmental damage through enforcement of fire legislations, education and rescue services. It is an “all hazards" department that responds to all types of incidents including fire, road traffic collisions, hazardous materials response, technical rescues, flood, special assistance, and much more. The MFRS also has the statutory obligation for the issue of Fire Certificate and carry out Enforcement Inspection and also being involved in promoting emergency preparedness, fire prevention and Fire Safety Education. The MFRS is manned by around 1140 officers in the firefighter cadre working on four shifts and providing fire and emergency cover for the whole island. It currently operates 10 Fire stations all over the island and a fire post in Agaléga island.


The Mauritius Meteorological Services (MMS) is the sole authority mandated to provide weather and climate services for the general welfare of the citizens of the Republic of Mauritius. In addition, it provides early warning for natural hazards so as to reduce the loss of life and damage to property. The MMS is an essential service and operates on a 24/7 basis. Its technical personnel work on a shift system at the following stations: Vacoas Headquarters, Plaisance Aeronautical Meteorological Station, St Brandon Meteorological Station, Agaléga Meteorological Station and Trou aux Cerfs Doppler Weather Radar Station.